?

Log in

No account? Create an account
Product Reviews' Journal
 
[Most Recent Entries] [Calendar View] [Friends]

Below are the 20 most recent journal entries recorded in Product Reviews' LiveJournal:

[ << Previous 20 ]
Monday, October 31st, 2011
5:23 pm
[pmorgan21]
Looking forward to being apart of this community
I love learning about new products and helping others learn more also. I have a blog dedicated to reviews that you can find HERE, but I'm only sharing that once in this first post. I will post actual reviews also. I just wanted anyone to know, if interested, that they can find even more reviews on my blog also!

I can't wait to read more!
Monday, January 10th, 2011
5:10 pm
[geobabe1]
Eucerin Calming Body Wash and Calming Itch-Relief Lotion
>

For those who, like me, just can't resist the super-hot showers in the winter even though you know the awful itchies are on the other end. The body wash has some kind of oils that manage to not feel oily and also foam up a bit (it doesn't make the bottom of the tub slimy, either), and has dramatically reduced the amount of lotion I have to slather on afterward. But if you still feel dry and itchy, the lotion is fantastic. It has menthol in it, but unlike some other mentholated lotions I've tried (I'm looking at you, Gold Bond Extra Strength), doesn't leave me feeling chilled and like I need another hot shower.
Saturday, December 18th, 2010
11:12 am
[geobabe1]
Method Smarty Dish dishwasher detergent
http://methodhome.com/product/smarty-dish-detergent



I'd been really frustrated with the other detergents I've tried, because my glassware was getting all cloudy, and just recently my Gladware started turning pink (and I had nothing with tomato sauce on it in there). Top that off with the fact that I HATED the smell of the stuff I was using (I can't be arsed to get off the couch to check, but I think it was Finish gel packs), so when I was spending all my husband's money at Target, the Method stuff caught my eye, and I decided to give it a try. Well, it works GREAT! All my glasses are sparkling clear, and it smells really nice--I got the Pink Grapefruit scent, and there's also an unscented version.

This detergent is kind of pricey, but for me, it's totally worth it for really clean dishes (and it's more enviro-friendly than a lot of other detergents, too). Recommended!
Tuesday, June 29th, 2010
4:36 pm
[kadenza]
Best sunscreen evarr

Best sunscreen evarr Last year, I think, I posted about my love for Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Dry Touch sunblock which I've been using on my face for several years. Now they've come out with an upgrade, and I feel I must post again. Neutrogena Ultra Sheer Water-Light Sunblock for the face. This stuff is what I've been searching for-- the texture is light and liquid, completely non-greasy and disappears instantly. It's as close to a moisurizer as I've yet found in a sunscreen. I still use the powder-finish Ultra Sheer on the rest of me but this stuff is just excellent for the face, removing any excuse not to wear it on a daily basis. The picture I found shows SPF 45, but the one I have is 60.

1:56 pm
[geobabe1]
True Lemon
Photobucket

I got a sample just for the heck of it because I saw the link on heyitsfreefeed, and free stuff is always good. Holy carp, I love this stuff! I was sometimes putting lemon juice in my water to jazz up the taste, but you never know how much you're squirting in there, and the packets make sure it's always the same amount. Also, it's made from whole lemons, so you get the nice flavor from the oil in the rind, too, not just the juice. Try some in a nice cold glass of Coke--deeeeelicious!

Get a free sample of lemon, lime and orange here: http://www.truelemon.com/products/free-samples.html
Wednesday, June 16th, 2010
10:32 am
[chef_troy]
And the "things that taste like bacon" trend was pronounced dead at...
My wife came back from a trip the other day and brought some of these for our son:



Now, I'm willing to give anything bacon-flavored a chance. Those maple-bacon lollipops I found a couple of months ago were actually really good. So I tried a Bacon Bean. And a little part of me died.

Unfortunately, what died was NOT my taste buds.

I'm serious, folks -- this is the candy they give out to trick-or-treaters on Halloween in Hell. Hang on - I'm going to go eat another one just so I can WARN you all with an accurate description.

-----

Bleagh. I can't BELIEVE I just did that. Okay, close your eyes and imagine this: You're a firefighter. You enter the bathroom of a house that's burned almost to the ground, and you encounter a bottle of Chloraseptic that has half-melted, disgorging its contents onto the charred remains of a fiberboard bathroom cabinet door.

THAT combination of charcoal, glue, melted plastic and throat-numbing medicine is what these taste (and smell) like. There are sixty in the tin, and it's MORE than a lifetime supply.
Tuesday, May 25th, 2010
11:33 pm
[geobabe1]
Alexia Onion Rings
Another BzzAgent product I sampled.

http://www.alexiafoods.com/alexia-products/alexia-onion-rings.jsp
Photobucket

These were OK; the panko breading gave them a really nice crunch, but the taste was kind of bland. Like the potato side dish I reviewed in the previous entry, they're not loaded with salt, which was nice, but I would have liked a little more other seasoning to give it a little more oomph. On the whole, not bad, but probably not an item I'll buy in the future.
11:24 pm
[geobabe1]
Alexia Select Sides Roasted Red Potatoes & Italian Inspired Vegetables
This was another product I sampled as a BzzAgent.

This is not your typical frozen side dish; it comes with a packet of olive oil and herbs that you cook it with in a skillet rather than just tossing in the microwave. While cooking, the smell was quite divine, and OMG are those pine nuts? SOLD! OK, turns out they weren't pine nuts, but northern beans, which are also quite good, as well as tomatoes, spinach and onions.

This was a tasty dish. The texture of the veggies was a little softer than I would have preferred, but the combination was good, and I really liked the flavor the oil and herb packet added. I did need to add a bit of salt, which was actually kind of nice, since so many prepared foods are just loaded with sodium--for comparison, this product has 230 mg of sodium per serving, and Green Giant Roasted Potatoes and Herbs has 420 mg/serving. Nice for folks who want to reduce their salt intake a bit or just don't like really salty foods. There aren't a whole lot of things on the ingredient list that aren't vegetables or spices.

In short: recommended!
9:10 pm
[geobabe1]
New Harvest Vegetarian EPA (Omega-3)
http://newharvest.com/New_Harvest/ub_US/index.html

Photobucket

I got this as a BzzAgent; I was interested in trying it, because I was taking fish oil daily for dry eyes as well as other health benefits, but sometimes had a problem with the nasty fishy burps...yuck. For that reason alone, this product appealed to me. I'm also concerned with the environmental impact of using fish oil; so many species are being over-harvested, plus the possibility of mercury and other contaminants, well, I'm happy to have a non-fish alternative.

The benefits of Omega-3s include heart health, memory and mood improvements, cancer prevention, and anti-inflammatory effects. It's good stuff--and it's great that there's a non-animal source of "long chain" Omega-3; most vegetable oils contain more ALA, which is not as beneficial as EPA and DHA. You can read more about the benefits of EPA, and New Harvest, here.
Tuesday, March 23rd, 2010
2:42 pm
[geobabe1]
Starbucks Pike Place Roast coffee


I got this from BzzAgent and was excited, because, hey! Free coffee! I hadn't tried this blend before; it's billed as "the perfect everyday coffee," and since I drink coffee every day, I was interested in trying it.

I like to brew my coffee pretty strong (though not quite as strong as they do in the Starbucks stores), and was pleased to find that this blend is indeed very smooth, and not bitter, and I definitely could taste the chocolately and nutty notes. A good blend, I think, and definitely recommended.

(Any other BzzAgents in here doing this campaign? What did you think?)
Sunday, March 21st, 2010
1:18 pm
[zette]
Nissan Chow Mein, Thai peanut
http://www.nissinfoods.com/chowmein/

WOW. I was thinking this would be like ramen soup or something, but it wasn't. It's SPICY. I mean really spicy. As in I'm sick as a dog and can't smell/taste and I'm saying "DAMN that is SPICY." I like the texture of the noodles, the flavorings (although it honestly is a bit too spicy for me, I think my husband would LOVE it) and I'm going to try the other flavors as well. It was more of a meal then I thought it would be and some chopped up leftover chicken would be good in one of these dishes. 5 minutes in the microwave easy, give one a try!


Tuesday, January 19th, 2010
6:22 pm
[geobabe1]
SteamFast Hard Floor Steam Mop
Photobucket

http://www.walmart.com/Steamfast-Hard-Floor-Steam-Mop/ip/7780088

I'm pretty happy with this mop. Our current place is all hardwood, so there was no earthly way I was going to maintain all that floor with a regular mop, I mean, no freakin' way. So I saw this one at Wally World and hey, look at that price! I won't lie, this thing feels a little flimsy; the handle doesn't go together completely, so it kind of clicks and clacks while I'm using it, but with the steam, you don't have to scrub really at all, and the tank doesn't hold much water, so the steam only lasts about 5 minutes, but for the price, seriously, it does not suck.
6:04 pm
[geobabe1]
Hamilton Beach Eclectrics Blender
Photobucket

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0003088WY/ref=oss_T15_product

I've long been on a quest for the perfect blender--this is my fifth one in the past three years (RIP, one Magic Bullet, two Hamilton Beach single-serves, and one Back to Basics Express). I use it every day to make a breakfast smoothie using frozen fruit, so I'm tough on blenders. I chose this one because unlike most other inexpensive models, it has a much more powerful motor, 500W vs. 175-350W. I've been using it for about a month, and am mostly pleased. The biggest problem I have with this blender is its tendency to push things up rather than around; I often have to stop it and stick a spoon down into the smoothie to pop the air bubble that forms around the blades, causing them to spin ineffectively, and when the mixture is more liquid, it tends to slosh rather than blending smoothly. But it does make short work of the frozen fruit, so that's a big plus.

Oh, and the title on the Amazon page says "All Metal," but the mesh gears (doohickey where the thing on top of the motor engages the thing on the bottom of the jar to make the blades spin) are some kind of rubber; it seems to work just fine, but I expected that bit to be metal also, and it's not.
Friday, January 15th, 2010
1:02 pm
[srb]
Roomba update?
I remember a looong time ago someone had posted some reviews of the Roomba. I just moved into a small house with all hardwood/linoleum floors and am thinking of purchasing one. I've heard some raves and horror stories both over the years, and I wonder if anyone who had one could give an update on if they still use it, love it?

Thanks!
Sunday, December 6th, 2009
1:29 pm
[100ofme]
Granola Nut Clusters
My friend receied a free sample of Nature Valley's new Granola Nut Clusters. She couldn't eat the ones she got because they have pecans in them and she is allergic so she gave them to me along with a stack of coupons for them.

They are DELICIOUS! I have tried the Nut Lovers and Cashew flavors. I also have a bag of Almond, but have not tried them yet. Although, I can't imagine they wouldn't be any good.

The cashew flavor is sweet, salty, and nutty all in one. I think they taste like the Nature Valley Oats and Honey granola bar with a little cashew added to them. They sell at Publix for about $3.20 a bag. I understand the high cost because of the nuts added to them, but it's still hard to pay that price for a small sized bag. I will definitely buy them again though because they are a tasty salty/sweet snack.

1:12 pm
[100ofme]
True North Pistachio crisps
I had a coupon for $1.00 off any True North product. I decided to give these Pistachio Crisps a try.




They are actually very good. My husband was afraid to try them at first. My boys, aged 10 and 6, like them too. They taste sort of like a ritz cracker, but at the same time you get this taste of pistachio in your mouth. They were a little pricy at around $3 for the bag. But, with a coupon they are a tasty little snack. And, they have good ingredients to boot!

ETA: I was just looking at the bag as I was snacking on some of these crisps. I saw in tiny print at the very bottom that True North is part of the Frito Lay Company. This doesn't change my mind about the tastiness of the snack, but I wanted to point out that they are not some little mom and pop company getting into the snack business.
Monday, November 16th, 2009
12:37 am
[100ofme]
Tiger Balm
So yesterday I had this bright idea to go climb to the top of a 729 foot cascading waterfall. To get to the top of this waterfall you had to walk about a half mile on a trail and then climb 604 stairs.

Today my calves are so unhappy and knotted up it feels like there are rocks in them. In fact, they kind of feel like they've been beaten with rocks. I tried a hot bath and using a massager for some relief. Neither of which worked. Then I remembered my husband had some, Tiger Balm in the medicine cabinet. I've never used it before, but he's always touting it's greatness. I decided to give it a try.

The pain didn't completely go away, but I can straighten out my legs without feeling like my muscles are ripping in half and it doesn't hurt to just touch them. It did relieve the pain enough that I am able to stretch now where before I couldn't. I think for a more normal level of muscle pain this stuff would be the bomb. Another great benefit is the scent. You know how Ben-Gay has this horrid smell? Well Tiger Balm has a very pleasing wintergreen scent. I think it would also work great to clear the sinuses when you are stuffy. It has two of the same ingredients as Vicks Vapo Rub but smells like those round pink wintergreen candies.
Wednesday, October 7th, 2009
1:54 pm
[geobabe1]
EcoSmart Ant & Roach Killer
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I got this spray because it was labeled as "Kid safe", not really bothering to read the label, and had to use some in the bathroom this morning, because there was a large ant congregation at the spot where my cat had barfed on the bathmat yesterday. I went back in there a few minutes later, and about died from the stench; I was all, WTF is IN that stuff? Read the label, and the active ingredients are rosemary oil and cinnamon oil. You know, I quite like the scents of those two things individually, but together, they F**KING STINK.

It killed the ants, though, so that's a thumbs up.

Current Mood: pee yoo!
Saturday, July 25th, 2009
10:14 am
[wyllow42]
Looking for a product review / recommendation
I hope this is okay here- mods, please let me know.

I'm wondering how any of you feel about the swiffer sweeper? Is it worth the cost? Do you have to spend so much in refills that it won't justify having it?

I have (crappy) laminate flooring covering most of the house. We plan to tear it out soon and lay tile. Bare floors with kids, a small dog, and general household dust/dirt tracking has me pulling out the shop-vac and mop every couple of days. We recently moved from a house which was mostly carpeted, so we have the regular upright vacuum which doesn't work so well on bare floors, even on the bare floor setting, and the only thing we have which works is that shop vac.

I'm looking for a good recommendation on either a vacuum or something to keep this floor clean without lugging that bulky vacuum around all the time.


What are your product solutions for bare floors?
Thursday, July 23rd, 2009
6:42 pm
[geobabe1]
Two-fer: Hoover Nano Light vacuum cleaner and Hamilton Beach Single Serve Blender
Hoover Nano Light

Photobucket

This thing sucks in the very good way. Having kids means an astonishing collection of debris on the floor, and I was delighted when I found it vacuuming up a pencil the other day. No, seriously. That means this thing has good power. It's really small, so it won't be enough if you have a huge place, but it's perfect for small houses or apartments, particularly if you have wood or tile floors, because it has a switch that turns off the beater brush for hard surfaces. It's super lightweight, too. Definitely recommended.

Hamilton Beach Single Serve Blender

Photobucket

This one gets a very mixed review. I recently bought my second of this blender. The first one was a champ, handling my frozen fruit smoothies with almost no complaint until I finally tortured it to death after six months of hard use. Not bad for a $15 blender. The second one, however, was a different story, and strained and emitted stinky smoke on the first use, and never did a good job of chopping and blending. So I'd recommend it if you only do very light blending.

I replaced it with this blender, which I've only used a couple times, but so far, so good.
[ << Previous 20 ]
About LiveJournal.com